Lahainaluna Lunas

Lahaina, HI

Lynn Kahoohalahala

Scott Soldwich


Red & White

Todd Rickard

Ian Aotaki, Jason Donez,
Ka’ala Buenconsejo,
Cheyne De La Garza

Front Row: Taioalo Wolf, Susitina Namoa, Teani Rickard, Teani Buenconsejo
Middle Row: Kiera Kaniho, Piper Pascua, Erin Hookano, Ashley Akamine
Top Row: Abigail Akamine, Aira Baguio, Taylor Eldridge , Ale’a Kimokeo, Alexia Plaza

The Lunas of Lahainaluna head to Oahu for their third appearance in the `Iolani Classic on 2018. The Lunas finished fifth in 2015, their last appearance in the field. It was a tournament that featured a winner from the islands, as Konawaena won the championship in 2015. Led by Coach Rickard, Lahainaluna is coming off a stellar season in 2017-18. The Lunas won the MIL and finished third in the state, going 23-5 and 14-0 within their league.

Lahainaluna is led by two senior leaders who are also interior players: Susitina Namoa and Erin Hookano. Namoa is a skilled scorer and ball-handler, while Hookano is a physical presence and rebounder. Overall, the team is young, with very good chemistry. Veteran Head Coach Todd Rickard added: “It’s always the same every year. We try to compete for a league championship, make it to states & compete for a state title.”

Number Name Gr.
1 Baguyo, Aira 10
2 Akamine, Abby 10
3 Buenconsejo, Teani 10
5 Akamine, Ashley 10
11 Kimokeo, Alea 10
12 Hookano, Erin 12
13 Kaniho, Kiera 9
14 Pascua,  Piper 9
21 Eldredge, Taylor 9
23 Plaza, Alexia 12
32 Rickard, Teani 12
33 Namoa, Susi 12
35 Wolf, Taioalo 10